“Slow and Steady Wins the Race.” — Jenna Brouk

I'm the turtle.

Yes, I am still the unemployed Juris Doctor.  The interviews that I had all fell through.  I had a bad feeling with the “6 panel” one…but the other one, the one that invited me to the office to have a meet and greet sorta thing, I really was taken by surprise when I received the denial letter.  I was going to save the rejection letters, put them with the law school rejection letters, and then someday frame them to remind myself of the battle along the way to success.  But I decided the law school letters were enough and shredded the denial letters for the two recent job opportunities that just seem to slip past me.

Both letters were short; they basically said thank you for your time and interest that you have put into the application process, but we have selected another applicant.  And just like that, I’m back in the race of finding another interview.  I do have a new one lined up for next week.  It is in another county however, which means there will be much driving involved.  My wife and I were talking about this, calculated up the cost of what it would cost in gas and decided that the job and what it will pay will still be worth the long drives.

I am excited, again.  The chase of searching, applying, then waiting and waiting until someone calls you and says YES, we would like you to come down for an interview; its a great feeling and one cannot help but feel excited and nervous all at the same time.  However, I CANNOT be as nervous as I was for the “6 panel.”  I cannot try to mask my nervousness with cockiness as I think (positively know for a fact) I did.  I will put more research into this interview; I will go in there feeling blessed to have the opportunity to have been selected for an interview.  And hopefully when I walk out of the interview, I will have a feeling that I did the best job I could have done; there was nothing more or less that I could have said, and that it is out of my hands.  Well, out of my hands after I write the thank you cards.  I get great joy out of writing thank you cards to the interviewers.  I feel as if it gives me an upper hand somehow; like all the other interviewees don’t know of this secret of writing thank you cards.  I attempt to make each thank you card personalized in some way; whether it be bringing up a question that they asked, or a comment that they made, it lets them know that I was paying attention, that I remembered their names and which interviewer out of the 3-6 interviewers sitting in front of me asked which questions.  It is a task all in itself; another challenge that I humbly accept each time I go in for a panel interview.

The seasons are changing.  Pretty soon I will be bringing out the Halloween decorations.  More often than not, I think about how life will be like in a year from now.  Next Halloween, will I be so overwhelmed with work that I will have a hard time putting up the decorations?  Surely I will not STILL be the unemployed Juris Doctor.  There is a saying that one of my law school friends used to say during our time studying for finals: “Slow and Steady Wins the Race.” –Jenna Brouk.  Law school finals were so overwhelming because there was unlimited amounts of information that could be tested on, and it became almost impossible to fathom not only studying it all, but knowing how to apply that knowledge to whatever situation presented itself on the exam.  But this advice from Jenna was so true.  If you started early, and went through the information at a steady pace, thus understanding it instead of just trying to remember it (the difference between undergrad and graduate school), then when it was exam day, you were prepared and all that info that seemed impossible to go over in the beginning, was just a memory…a horrible memory, but a memory none the less.

I am starting to think this search for being employed is analogous to studying for finals.  The process of searching for a job, applying for that job, writing cover letter after cover letter, getting an interview, studying the firm in preparation for the interview and selling yourself  all to end up with a two sentence “thanks but no thanks” denial letter is exhausting and discouraging.  But, in the end, you get back up, and get back into the race.  Eventually, your endurance and motivation to become something better will prevail and you will win your race.  I say “your” race because each of us have our own race we are trying to compete in.  Mine right now is getting a job, but yours might be something totally different.  The training for whatever it is though is the same: slow and steady.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

