Not supposed to be having fun

Well, I took a break from blogging; a whole 5 days. Since then, tragedy has occurred in Colorado, Penn State fans are in an uproar about their beloved statue coming down and the sanctions unloaded by the NCAA and Sally Ride, the first woman in space, passed away. It is amazing that the whole world can change in the blink of an eye. One minute, your going into a theater to relax and have fun, the next minute your whole world has been turned upside down. I cannot even imagine what those people and their loved ones are going through right now. May GOD be with them in during this incredibly unimaginable time.

Moving onto not so grim and depressing things, I am still unemployed. However, I did have lunch with a couple of lawyers last week who gave me hope of getting out of this dark tunnel called unemployment. They were incredibly down to earth guys, bantering back forth like good friends do. I felt welcomed to join in on their conversations and laugh at their jokes. On top of being able to have a relaxed conversation with them, I was able to have an intelligent conversation regarding legal matters and current events. I had almost forgotten what those conversations felt like! What does this mean? It means I need to get out more and talk to lawyers!

I do from time to time get to get out of the rut of looking for a job to actually do work for a criminal law firm downtown. I am on a need only basis; so when they need me to write a motion, do some research, they call and I gladly do it. As a matter of fact I am going downtown tomorrow to do some work for them, so that will be nice. I can’t tell you how much pleasure it gives me to be able to put my suit on, grab my satchel (hey, Indiana Jones wears one) and go downtown. GOD I need a job.

So after doing all my job searching today, I figured I would do something different. I’ve come to the conclusion that you can’t look for a job 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. To do this would be the sure route to insanity. So, I was going to go work on my Dad’s 1975 Dodge Power-wagon. I love that truck. It is the truck that I drove in high school. I probably should have died multiple times in it, as should most crazy 16 year olds who think they are invincible, but I did not die, and am very thankful for that. I enjoy going over to my parents and have been going over there a lot more often lately, but that is a different story. Perhaps another time. However, I did not go over there today (well, not yet), because I feel this overwhelming sensation of guilt. Guilt that I should not be doing anything other than look for a job, all day long, all week long, until I find a job. I know that this is an irrational thought, and that I should not feel guilty about it, but it is still in the back of my head.

In venting to my friend today about getting burnt out by early afternoon looking for jobs, she said that I should read up on the current law. This is a great idea and I will now put my subscription to the ABA Law Journals to use! She said that others in my profession probably don’t have time to stay current on the law and the legal current events because they have a job and are too busy. Suckers! Look at all the stuff those poor employed people are missing out on…well, not really but it felt good saying.

So with that said, maybe I will get into another sort of routine, one that involves getting up to date on current events in the legal arena. Hey, and THEN, maybe I can actually blog about that! Amazing! I like this idea. On this note, I am going to go over to work on the dodge….even though I’m not supposed to have any fun.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

