The daily grind; how to get into a rut.

Image

So every morning, I wake up, play with my youngest (usually bad guys), then he goes to his grandma’s house, I make my cappuccino (which I still haven’t figured out how to make any type of design whatsoever in the creme) and have a banana and get on the computer.  From the computer, I look at all job sites that I of course have bookmarked in my browser, going down to the next one, to the next one, to the next one.  If there is a new job posting for anything remotely similar to what I spent going to college and law school for, then I write a nice little cover letter and submit it with my glorious resume.  This ladies and gentlemen is a rut.  I do this everyday.  

So, how to get out of a rut.  Well, I’m doing it right now, you are reading it right now as I crawl out of this trench I’ve so willingly barricaded myself in.  I read about starting a blog months and months ago.  I attempted to do it, but the website I started it on wasn’t very user friendly, so I canceled it in a matter of hours.  I’ve read so many articles that explain how to make the most out of your time not working.  Network network network seems to be the common denominator of all the suggestions.  Volunteer.  Yes, I know it is a great thing, and yes, I will…I keep telling myself I will.  

I have all these great plans, to be great, to do great things.  For the first time in my life, I feel as though there is a time crunch for all this greatness to occur.  I’m 32 years old; time isn’t stopping, and I’m not getting any younger.  Now is the time.  Make it happen.  DO SOMETHING.  I will, I tell myself, I will.  

So the first thing is to get out the rut that you are in.  Try something new tomorrow; change can be a good thing, it can get you from here to there, and before you know it, you are somewhere.  Somewhere is better than nowhere right? 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

